Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
Log in
Sections
You are here: Home Magazine Product Reviews

Product Reviews

By admin - Posted Jan 14, 2002 07:00 PM
A listing of all the Product Reviews published in the magazine.
ARTICLE

Product Review: Barrier Reef Aquariums' EverGrow Nova A4 LED Light

By Dana Riddle on Feb 19, 2014 at 09:00 AM

Dana Riddle thoroughly reviews the Barrier Reef Aquarium Nova A4 controllable LED light. For under $300 USD, how well does this four array, 51 LED, 100 watt, remote-controlled fixture perform?

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Apogee Instruments' PAR Meter (Model MQ-200) and Software

By Dana Riddle on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:00 AM

The Apogee MQ-200 Quantum Meter offers many advantages to aquarium hobbyists. The meter is relatively inexpensive (as quantum meters go) and the submersible sensor is small and allows measurements to be made in tight spots. Hobbyists should take a careful look and see if this PAR meter is for them.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Build My LED 48" Strip Light: Custom LED Lighting for Freshwater and Reef Aquaria

By Dana Riddle on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:00 AM

"I want a reliable lighting device and Build My LED seems to have hit the right note." Dana evaluates the construction, performance, and customer service of a custom-configured LED light from the new company, Build My LED.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Ecotech Marine Radion XR30w Pro

By Leonard Ho on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:00 AM

It's been a little over a year since Ecotech Marine introduced the Radion LED light. The Radion made big waves with aquarists and quickly ascended to mass popularity. In January 2013, Ecotech Marine began shipments of their latest and most powerful incarnation of the Radion platform: the XR30w Pro. Advanced Aquarist takes a closer look at the Pro.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: EcoTech Marine MP60 Propeller Pump

By Dana Riddle on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:00 AM

This review will report on operational issues of a MP60 that has seen over a year of service. How well did the pump hold up? What problems, if any, encountered? These questions and others will be answered below.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Maxi-Jet Pro Series Pumps

By Dana Riddle on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:00 AM

Marineland Aquarium Products' Maxi-Jet pumps have been around for quite some time. Recently, their design changed as well as their country of manufacture. The manufacturer promises relatively high performance while offering them at very modest prices. Is this a case of 'you get what you pay for' or are they a true value?

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: RLSS R10-U Protein Skimmer

By Leonard Ho on May 08, 2012 at 11:00 AM

RLSS is a new line of protein skimmers by H2O systems featuring the speed-controllable Waveline DC pumps. Advanced Aquarist reviews the RLSS R10-U.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Blue Moon Aquatics' P30 LED Pendant

By Dana Riddle on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:00 AM

What seemed impossible to many just a few years ago is now reality - this LED luminaire can complete with metal halides when used over coral reef aquaria of sizes commonly seen in homes. I've had another Blue Moon Aquatics LED system in operation for over a year and report no problems with it. If that is any indication, one should get long, reliable service from the P30 luminaire.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Inexpensive Analytical Devices: Hanna Instruments' Checkers: Alkalinity and Phosphate

By Dana Riddle on Aug 24, 2011 at 08:00 AM

In many cases, results from colorimeters are superior to visually judging colored samples. Will an inexpensive device deliver results comparable to an expensive spectrophotometer? Dana tests the Hanna Checkers to find out.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Feature Article: Experimental Comparison of Measured Flow Output of Aquarium Propeller Pumps

By Michael Sandford, William Straka, Sanjay Joshi on Jul 13, 2011 at 08:00 AM

Hobbyists have seen significant advancements in the range of aquarium circulation pumps available over the past decade. While all manufacturers provide a flow rate for the pumps, it is not clear what methods have been used to arrive at the numbers. Further, different manufacturers may use different methods. We have presented a standard method that we hope can be adopted by the manufacturers thus enabling a more accurate and verifiable approach.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Two Little Fishies' Media Reactor 150 and PhosBan Phosphate and Silica Adsorption Media

By Dana Riddle on Jun 15, 2011 at 08:00 AM

TLF's 150 Reactor and PhosBan media performed as advertised. Under the conditions of this testing, both phosphate and silica concentrations fell to levels below the detection limits of 'laboratory grade' instruments. The successful application of these products in aquaria around the world is a testament to their functions. If you're battling algae outbreaks and need a quick solution, give these products a try.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: B-Ionic Seawater is Good to the Last Drop

By Jake Adams on May 14, 2010 at 08:00 PM

As with trying and testing all new things, long term performance is what really counts so I was greatly looking forward to seeing if my initial impressions with the 4-part would be similar to my long term experience.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Reefing like it's 1999: How Reef Aquarium Flow and Lighting has Changed Over the Past Decade

By Jake Adams on Jan 14, 2010 at 07:00 PM

Jake takes a walk down memory lane recounting how lighting and water flow has changed over the last ten years in the reef aquarium hobby.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: VorTech MP10 Propeller Pump

By Dana Riddle on Oct 14, 2009 at 08:00 PM

In a day of product hype and hyperbole, it is refreshing to find a product that delivers more than it promises. Our testing found that the MP10 maximum flow rate exceeded the manufacturer's claim, and all other advertising points were reasonable.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: New products and technology in the marine and reef aquarium hobby

By Jake Adams on Aug 14, 2009 at 08:00 PM

The first 6 months of 2009 have been one of the most exciting periods for the release of new reef aquarium products.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: New Electronic Ballasts - Lumatek, Galaxy and Vertex

By Sanjay Joshi, Ph.D. on Jun 14, 2009 at 08:00 PM

This article reviews the new series of electronic ballasts recently introduced by Lumatek, Sunlight Supply - Galaxy Electronic Ballasts, and Proline's Vertex electronic ballasts.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: T5 Fluorescent Lamps: UV Lighting's 'Super Actinic,' 'Actinic White,' and 'Aquasun' High Output T5 Lamps

By Dana Riddle on Mar 14, 2009 at 08:00 PM

This month we'll begin an examination of T5 fluorescent lamps in general and then scrutinize several lamps manufactured by UV Lighting Company.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Analyzing Reflectors: Lumenbrite III, Lumenmax Elite, Lumenmax, and Lumenarc III

By Sanjay Joshi, Ph.D. on Jan 14, 2009 at 07:00 PM

Reflector design for reef aquariums has improved considerably allowing for more efficient use of light. With these reflectors we can now light reef aquarium with fewer lamps, get deeper light penetration over larger areas.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: Products of the 20th Marine Aquarium Conference of North America in Atlanta, Georgia

By Jake Adams on Nov 14, 2008 at 07:00 PM

American innovation and advancements in nearly every kind of product one can imagine, this year's MACNA offered attendees a wealth of new marine and reef aquarium products to gawk at and enjoy.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

ARTICLE

Product Review: VorTech MP 40 W

By Terry Siegel on Nov 14, 2008 at 07:00 PM

If I sound enthusiastic about this product it is because I am. Over the years I've seen all kinds of equipment come and go, but in my judgment, Vortech pumps are here to stay.

Read More…    |    View Photo Album    |    Comments    |   

Document Actions
ADVANCED AQUARIST